Korac 2001 Final: Unicaja rules in the first leg

por Roberto Anidos publicado en 2001 Competitions FIBA Decade 2000 Hemofarm Korac Cup Unicaja

A 30 point victory in the first leg gave Unicaja Malaga the 2001 Korac title against Hemofarm. Frederic Weis with his 13 points, 10 rebounds and 8 blocks in that first game, was decisive for the final victory of the Andalusian

Astronauts – Fenerbahce
Prokom Trefl – Hemofarm
Ramat-Gan – Unicaja Málaga
Trieste – Athlon

Astronauts – Unicaja Málaga
Hemofarm – Athlon

Unicaja achieved a conclusive victory by 30 points over the Hemofarm in the first leg of the Cup final Korać and, with the return match pending, practically secured the first European title in their history. If even before the match the superiority of the Andalusian team over the Yugoslavians was evident, on the track the enormous physical and technical difference between the two became apparent. Bozidar’s team, Maljković, which was facing its second consecutive final in this European competition, learned from the negative experience of losing the title in the previous season, and this time posed a very serious match from the first minute to the last. The man of the match was undoubtedly French pivot Frederic Weis, who came into play in the second quarter and immediately sent the opposition into panic with his intimidating power (up to eight caps were placed by the French player). Unicaja Malaga has made history by achieving its first continental title, after losing a year ago the final of the Cup Korać against Limoges (team then played Frédéric Weis, who has been instrumental in the success of Malaga in the two matches against Hemofarm). Despite the fact that the Andalusian team had practically sentenced the final in the first leg, with a wide gap of thirty points, did not relax in the game played in Vršac and went out to play with the same winning mentality that Božidar Maljković instills in its players in every game.

Unicaja Málaga
*Cabezas – 6.0p, 1.5br
*Rodríguez – 8.5p, 3.0r
*Mrsic – 7.0p, 3.5r
*Abrams – 16.5p, 6.0r
*Petrusca – 3.5p, 2.0r
Jaumin – 7.5p, 4.0a
Phillip – 7.5p, 3.5r
Vázquez – 3.0p, 1.0a
Weis – 8.5p, 9.5r, 5.0t
Sonko – 6.0p, 3.5a

*Vidacic – 11.0p, 3.0br
*Pekovic – 14.0p, 3.0r
*Ivanovic – 3.5p, 1.5r
*Dogo – 6.5p, 4.5r
*Vucinic – 1.5p, 1.0r
Popovic – 0p. (1)
Stefanovic – 0p, 1br. (1)
Savic – 6.5p, 3.5r
Zecevic – 13.0p, 6.0r