Cup 2018 Final: After four years of drought Barcelona is champion again

por Roberto Anidos publicado en 2018 Barcelona Cup Decade 2010 Real Madrid

In 2018 the Cup was held in Gran Canaria, where we lived the tight victory of Barcelona, surpassing in a final of maximum tension to Real Madrid, by (92-90). Heurtel, like the following season, was crowned MVP of the tournament

Real Madrid began by dominating the first quarter, but from that moment on the Blaugranas took control of the game until almost the beginning of the last quarter, when they managed to win by (67-52). But Madrid got into the game facing the last possessions with a great comeback, which led us to a heart attacking end, but Barcelona tempered the nerves, and not without certain refereeing controversies, they took the title after four years of drought.

Ribas (21 points) and Tomic (17 points), Sanders and Hanga, both with 12, and MVP Heurtel (8 points 7 assists) who were more dedicated to leading than scoring in the final. In Madrid, Carroll 18, and Thompkins 17, were the top scorers, seconded by Campazzo, Doncic and Rudy, all three with 14 points.


Barcelona 94 – Baskonia 90
Valencia Basket 72 – Iberostar Tenerife 79
Real Madrid 89 – Unicaja Malaga 84
Herbalife Gran Canaria 107 – Montakit Fuenlabrada 92

Barcelona 87 – Herbalife Gran Canaria 74
Iberostar Tenerife 59 – Real Madrid 77


Barcelona 92
*Heurtel – 8p, 7a, 4r
*Sanders – 12p, 4r, 1t
*Hanga – 12p, 3r, 1t
*Moerman – 4p, 7r, 2br
*Tomic – 17p, 5r
Ribas – 21p, 4r, 2a
Navarro – 0p, 1r
Oriola – 9p, 1r, 1a
Koponen – 2p, 1r
Claver – 7p, 5r, 1br

Real Madrid 90
*Campazzo – 14p, 3a, 2r
*Causeur – 2p, 2r
*Doncic – 14p, 5r, 3a
*Thompkins – 17p, 3r, 2br
*Tavares – 2p, 4r, 2t
Randolph – 2p, 1t
Rudy – 14p, 4r, 4br
Reyes – 2p, 1r
Ayón – 3p, 1r
Carroll – 18p, 1a, 1br
Taylor – 2p, 3br, 2a