World Champion 1950 Final: Argentina, the first champion

por Roberto Anidos publicado en 1950 Argentina Decade 50 United States World Champion

In the late 40’s FIBA realized that the World Cup was proving to be a great idea to promote their sport, so they decided to do the same. Argentina was chosen as the first venue because Europe was still rebuilding after World War II, and its national team took the opportunity to be the first champion of the competition, beating the United States at the end silver, in the decisive match that decided the Gold

No crosses were played, and the group ended with champion Argentina (5-0), Silver USA (4-1), and Bronze Chile (2-3) thanks to the average that allowed them to beat Brazil and Egypt. As there was no final match, but this was the confrontation between Argentina and the United States, with an Albiceleste victory by (64-50) in the last match of the final series.

Argentina 64
*Furlong – 20p
*Del Vecchio – 14p
*Contarbio – 8p
*Menini – 7p
*Gonzalez – 7p
Pérez Varela – 4p
Viau – 2p
Uder – 1p
Bustos – 1p
Liva – 0p
Monza – 0p
Lopez – 0p

United States 50
*Stanich – 11p
*Slocum – 8p
*Heffley – 6p
*Langdon – 6p
*Kahler – 5p
Williams – 4p
Metzger – 3p
Resse – 3p
Parks – 2p
Jaquet – 2p
Fisher – 0p