World Champion 1959 Final: The Soviet Union gives Brazil the Gold

por Roberto Anidos publicado en 1959 Brazil Decade 50 United States World Champion

Political stuff. In 1959 the World Cup was held in Chile, where at the end, and after two phases we reached the last game with the Soviet Union virtually winning the World Cup, but their leaders had the order from Moscow not to play against the nationalist China team, ‘enemy’ of communist China, and by default was given up the game (2-0), and this was used by Brazil to be world champion

The decision left a Brazil-Chile match as the decisive match in the last one. The hosts had a slim chance of being champions, but only if they won by twelve points. Far behind, as the final result (73-49) shows, they were far behind and took the Bronze, allowing Brazil to win the Gold, although with a clear ‘asterisk’. The silver medal within this mess, was won by the United States.

Brazil 73
*Wlamir – 17p
*Amaury – 16p
*Fonseca – 11p
*Azevedo – 8p
*Blatkauskas – 7p
Waldyr – 0p
Senra – 2p
Freitas – 0p
De Souza – 0p
Schall – 2p
Dos Santos – 6p
Da Nobrega – 4p

Chile 49
*Salvadores – 15p
*Bernedo – 14p
*Thomson – 10p
*Etchepare – 5p
*Zitko – 4p
De la Fuente – 1p
Sibilla – 0p
Garafulic – 0p
Silva – 0p
Etcheverrigaray – 0p
Gianoni – 0p
Luchsinger – 0p