NBA Final 1981: Bird Leads Celtics to the ring

por Roberto Anidos publicado en 1981 Boston Celtics Decade 80 Houston Rockets NBA

In the NBA of 81 the Boston Celtics were proclaimed champions after beating the Houston Rockets 4-2 in the final. Moses Malone was the leader of the Texans, but the Rockets succumbed to the great work of Bird, well seconded by Maxwell

Boston Celtics
*Archibald – 10.3p, 5.5a, 1.2r
*Ford – 10.5p, 2.7r, 2.5a
*Maxwell – 17.7p, 9.5r, 2.8a
*Bird – 15.3p, 15.3r, 7.0a
*Parish – 15.0p, 7.7r, 2.0t
Robey – 7.8p, 3.7r
Henderson – 7.2p, 1.7r, 1.7a
Carr – 6.7p, 1.7r, 1.0a
McHale – 4.7p, 3.3r
Duerod – 1.5p. (4)
Fernsten – 0.5p. (4)

Houston Rockets
*Dunleavy – 9.8p, 3.2a, 2.3r
*Reid – 14.7p, 7.5r, 3.2a
*Willoughby – 7.5p, 4.5r, 1.2a
*Paultz – 11.2p, 6.0r, 1.3a
*M. Malone – 22.3p, 15.7r, 2.2t
Henderson – 6.7p, 4.2a, 2.2r
Leavell – 5.0p, 3.4a, 1.4r. (5)
Murphy – 9.8p, 1.8a, 1.0r. (4)
Garret – 3.0p, 1.8r. (4)
Jones – 3.0p, 1.6r. (3)
Tomjanovich – 0.6p, 1.3r. (3)

In order to reach the final they beat…
Boston Celtics – Chicago Bulls (4-2), Philadelphia Sixers (4-3)
Houston Rockets – Angeles Lakers (2-1), San Antonio Spurs (4-3), Kansas City Kings (4-1)