Winners’ Cup 1985 Final: Barcelona win their first continental title

por Roberto Anidos publicado en 1985 Barcelona Competitions FIBA Decade 80 Winners’ Cup Zalgiris Kaunas

In 1985, the Cup Winners’ Cup final was held in Grenoble between Barcelona and Zalgiris Kaunas, where the Blaugranas, after losing three continental finals in the past, won their first title after beating the Lithuanians (77-73). Sibilio and Epi managed to minimize Rimas Kurtinaitis’ big game

Zalgiris Kaunas – ASVEL Villeurbanne
Zaragoza – Barcelona

After three previous failed attempts (1975, 1981 and 1984), FC Barcelona won their first European title after a well-played and completely dominated match, even though the last few seconds almost saw their victory jeopardised. On an individual level, the Grenoble final served to redeem Sibyllus after his disastrous finals in 1981 and 1984. For the ‘Algiris’, who could not count on the injured Jovai’, the best man was Kurtinaitis (36 points), despite missing the decisive basket that could have forced extra time. Although the general opinion before the match was more favourable to ‘Algiris, who had just won the Soviet League and had exceptional players like Sabonis, Kurtinaitis and Chomičius, Barcelona knew how to act more as a homogeneous block and could finally take the victory. When it came to attacking, Solozábal set the right pace for his team, while Sibilio and Epi were exceptional; in defence, Davis, Howard and De la Cruz were a seamless third.

Barcelona 77
*Solozabal – 11p, 3a
*Epi – 18p, 5r
*Sibilio – 29p, 3r
*Howard – 11p, 9r
*Davis – 2p, 3r
Ansa – 2p
De la Cruz – 4p, 2r

Zalgiris Kaunas 73
*Homicius – 6p, 3br
*Brazys – 11p, 3a
*Kurtinaitis – 36p, 2r
*Civilis – 6p
*Sabonis – 14p, 16r, 5t
Krapikas – 0p, 3r