FIBA Cup 2016 Final: Fraport Skyliners win after overcoming Varese

por Roberto Anidos publicado en 2016 Competitions FIBA Decade 2010 FIBA Cup Fraport Skyliners Varese

In 2016 the last FIBA Cup was held as the main exponent of its club competitions. In this edition the final four was held in the French city of Chalon-Sur-Saône, where Fraport Skyliners was proclaimed champion after overcoming and finally winning the Italian Varese by (66-62)

Fraport Skyliners 59 – Enisey 56
Varese 91 – Elan Chalon 82

The truth is that Varese dominated the score for much of the final, (25-31) at halftime, and (33-45) at the end of the third act. The Italians fought to prevent the Germans from completing the comeback, but it came when Fraport tied the score at (62-62) with one minute to go. This was a sledgehammer blow for the Transalpine, who would not score anymore, and Fraport took advantage of it to take the title.

Robertson (15 points), Theodore (13) and Voightmann (12) were the top scorers for the champions. At Varese, Wright (19 points) and Wayns (16) were the top scorers.

Fraport Skyliners 66
*Theodore – 13p, 2a
*Robertson – 15p, 5r
*Doornekamp – 5p, 1r
*Barthel – 9p, 6r
*Voigtmann – 12p, 6r
Klein – 0p, 2a
Little – 0p, 3r
Morrison – 6p, 8r
Scrubb – 6p, 3r

*Wright – 19p, 3a
*Wayns – 16p, 5r
*Kangur – 7p, 5r
*Kuksiks – 6p, 6r
*Davies – 3p, 7r
Cavaliero – 3p, 4r
Campani – 6p, 4r
Ferrero – 2p