Champions League 2017 Final: Iberostar Tenerife wins the first edition

In 2017 FIBA tried to promote its first club competition once and for all, and inaugurated the Champions League Basketball. If the first edition was held in Tenerife, and the local team did not want to miss the opportunity to play as a local to win the title, surpassing in the final the Turkish Banvit by (63-59). The MVP was for the outside Lithuanian of Tenerife Marius Grigonis

Banvit 83 – Monaco 74
Tenerife 67 – Reyer Venezia 58

The final started with a lot of intensity, and only with the passing of the minutes Tenerife was able to open up some of the gap (23-14). It was a small oasis for them, as the Turks closed the gap and the break was reached with (34-31). Despite the visitors’ efforts, the locals once again picked up small rents, including nine points, which they held on to with some consistency. Until Banvit returned again (58-57), just minutes from the end, to fight for the title. But again Tenerife showed why they were ahead almost all the way, and got enough peace of mind to finish the job.

Grigonis (18 points) and White (14 points) were the offensive style of Tenerife. At Banvit, Theodore (17 points), Kulig and Orelik, both with 13 points.

Iberostar Tenerife 63
*San Miguel – 9p, 3r
*Grigonis – 18p, 3r
*Doornekamp – 3p, 5r
*Hanley – 0p, 1a
*Bogris – 2p, 6r
Richotti – 0p
Niang – 6p, 4r
Bassas – 3p
Kirksay – 4p, 3r
Vázquez – 4p, 4r
Abromaitis – 0p, 5r
White – 14p, 5a

Banvit 59
*Theodore – 17p, 9r
*Chappell – 7p, 3r
*Muric – 0p, 1r
*Orelik – 13p, 13r
*Vidmar – 2p, 5r
Kulig – 13p, 2r
Gecim – 3p, 2r
Mutlu – 0p
Korkmaz – 4p, 3a

Salir de la versión móvil